Guidance » College Planning & Naviance

College Planning & Naviance

 
 
Senior Planning
 
Please see documents below regarding the college application process. 
If you have not already met individually with your counselor, please email them to schedule a meeting.
 
Click the link below to view 20 questions to ask college representatives!
 
 
Please click on link to access your Naviance account
   Student Access:
 
Teacher Access: 

 

College Resources

LearnHowToBecome.org is a new resource for students and job seekers looking for in-depth career information and guidance. It provides detailed insight into more than 50 of today's most popular career fields, including accounting, engineering, medical assisting, nursing, firefighting, financial advising and teaching. It also dissects each of the educational and professional steps needed to enter the field, including coursework in high school, a college degree, on-the-job training, apprenticeships, and professional exams and certifications. It also includes resources and tools specific to the career in focus:

http://www.learnhowtobecome.org/
- A directory of campus and online programs from accredited colleges and universities, related to the career
- A tool comparing salaries in the profession across the U.S.
- Salaries of closely related careers
- Job growth information and data
- Professional resources

 

Learnerator provides students with thousands of practice questions & detailed explanations for their exams.  While they are better known for their AP resources, they also guide students through the complex college application process with online courses, which students can use as a resource when preparing their college application. http://www.learnerator.com/guidance2014

 

College Search Resources

Agriculture Colleges in New Jersey - https://www.universities.com/find/new-jersey/best/agriculture

American Education Services – www.educationplanner.com

Cappex - http://www.cappex.com

Campus Tours - http://www.campustours.com

Christian Colleges – www.christiancollegementor.org

College Board – www.collegeboard.com

Colleges that Change Lives - http://CollegesThatChangeLives.com

College View – www.collegeview.com

College Majors - www.collegemajors101.com

College Net - http://www.collegenet.com

Common Application – www.commonapp.org

Community Colleges - http://cset.sp.utoledo.edu/twoyrcol.html

Dept. of Education – www.students.gov

Hillel- www.hillel.org

Historically Black Colleges – www.edonline.com/cq/hbcu

Mapping Your Future – www.mapping-your-future.org

My College Options- www.mycollegeoptions.com

Nursing Schools - http://www.nursingschoolsalmanac.com

Peterson’s – www.petersons.com

The National Association for College Admission Counseling – www.nacacnet.org

 Virtual college visits - http://www.youvisit.com/colleges

 

Career

Occupational Outlook Handbook – www.bls.gov/oco

Career Information – www.online.onetcenter.org

NJ Career Assistance – www.njcan.org

http://www.jobapplicationsonline.com/

http://jobapplicationcenter.com/

  

Resources for Students with Learning Disabilities

http://www.wrightslaw.com/flyers/college.504.pdf

http://www.ldadvisory.com/library.php

http://www.collegeplanningsimplified.com/LearningDisabilities.html

https://www.collegechoice.net/50-best-disability-friendly-colleges-and-universities/